Rugby League

Captains say: Tigers, Magpies to contest 2019 grand final

­­­­The 2019 AFL grand final will be a battle between Victorian powerhouses Richmond and Collingwood, according to 18 of the league’s captains.

In their annual pre-season survey, when asked which 17 other clubs would make the premiership decider this year, the overwhelming response was the Tigers (eight) and Magpies (five) who claimed 13 of the 18 votes between them.

AFL captains expect Richmond and Collingwood to play off in the 2019 grand final.Credit:Eddie Jim

Only five other teams earned votes: West Coast (two), GWS (one), Adelaide (one) and Melbourne (one).

Only four clubs – Melbourne, West Coast, Richmond and Collingwood – received the maximum 17 votes from the captains when they were asked which teams would make the finals.

Adelaide (15) were a close second, followed by GWS (12), Geelong (seven), Sydney (six) and Essendon (five).

Hawthorn and Port Adelaide each got four votes, North Melbourne earned two and perhaps the biggest surprise saw three captains nominate the Brisbane Lions as a 2019 finallist.

Geelong superstar Patrick Dangerfield (four) was the captains’ pick for the Brownlow Medal, while West Coast spearhead Josh Kennedy (seven) and Carlton youngster Sam Walsh (11) were overwhelming choices for the Coleman Medal and Rising Star respectively.


Which seven other clubs do you think can make this year's top eight?
17 – Melbourne, West Coast, Richmond, Collingwood
15 – Adelaide
12 – GWS
7 – Geelong
6 – Sydney
5 – Essendon
4 – Hawthorn, Port Adelaide
3 – Brisbane Lions
2 – North Melbourne

Which other club is most likely to reach the grand final?
8 – Richmond
5 – Collingwood
2 – West Coast
1 – GWS, Adelaide, Melbourne

Who do you think will win the 2019 Brownlow Medal?
4 – Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong Cats)
3 – Nathan Fyfe (Fremantle), Patrick Cripps (Carlton)
2 – Dustin Martin (Richmond), Jaeger O’Meara (Hawthorn)
1 – Rory Sloane (Adelaide Crows), Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood), Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs), Max Gawn (Melbourne)

Who do you think will win the 2019 Coleman Medal?
7 – Josh Kennedy (West Coast)
4 – Jack Riewoldt (Richmond)
1 – Ben Brown (North Melbourne), Joe Daniher (Essendon), Tom Hawkins (Geelong), Tom McDonald (Melbourne), Lance Franklin (Sydney), Jeremy Cameron (GWS), Jack Gunston (Hawthorn)

Who do you think will win the 2019 NAB AFL Rising Star?
11 – Sam Walsh (Carlton)
1 – Jack Lukosius (Gold Coast), Zak Butters (Port Adelaide), Jye Caldwell (GWS), Luke Valente (Fremantle), Bailey Smith (Western Bulldogs), Chase Jones (Adelaide), Matt Walker (Hawthorn)

Source: Read Full Article