With Benji Marshall and Chris Lawrence both playing their 250th games, the Wests Tigers had plenty to play for against the Newcastle Knights.
But the Knights blew out a 24-4 lead at the break, perhaps aided by a late video referee decision.
Kayo is your ticket to the 2020 NRL Telstra Premiership. Every game of every round Live & On-Demand with no-ad breaks during play. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >
Having rushed out to 18-0 before Luciano Leilua scored for the Tigers, it looked like it would be 18-4 at the break.
That was until Knights prop Jacob Saifiti ran at the line, dragging three Tigers over the line with him.
The initial question was whether he had knocked on when he got to the line, but he appeared to hold onto the ball despite it hitting the knee of one of the defenders.
But the bigger concern became that he was short of the line when he grounded it, before pushing his own arm over the line.
While the commentators believed it was a double movement, it appears as though the bunker official was looking at both of Saifiti’s legs being in the air and being pushed to the line.
Warren Smith said: “Eventually it does hit the line but it came down short in that side on angle.”
Jacob Saifiti push the ball the last couple of inches.Source:FOX SPORTS
Steve Roach pointed out that he used his other hand to push the ball over the line.
“I think it‘s a double movement, he’s advanced the ball,” Roach said. “No try.”
The word from the bunker officials was he was short of the line but maintained possession and “the momentum of the tackle took him to the try line”.
Mal Meninga also questioned the decision.
“Unfortunate for the Tigers, a pretty simple try to Jacob Saifiti but did he actually plant the ball on the line or before hand?”
The double movement interpretation is that:
“A try will be awarded if: ‘a tackled player’s momentum carries him into the opponents’ in-goal where he grounds the ball even if the ball has first touched the ground in the field of play’.
“In the process of scoring a try a player in possession must not promote the ball from the position the ball has been grounded.
“If the momentum of the player in possession carries him into the opponents in goal area, it will not be a double movement if the ball would have finished over the goal line regardless of any of any subsequent movement of the ball or the arm carrying the ball.”
While there could definitely be an argument that Saifiti‘s momentum hadn’t stopped as his legs were in the air, there were plenty of fans believing it was a double movement.
The @NRLKnights sneak in one more before the break!#NRLKnightsTigers#TelstraPremiership pic.twitter.com/KT8p1OxzVR
Stop it Horse. That was a double movement. #NRLKnightsTigers
The bunker officials preparing their dinner during half-time.#NRLKnightsTigers pic.twitter.com/ObWEwd1cHz
But the Tigers’ woes didn’t end there with the Knights going on with it in the second half.
With 10 minutes remaining, the Knights led 44-4 and were putting the Tigers to the sword.
Source: Read Full Article