EA Sports reveal Eric Cantona and 10 other new icons for FIFA 21

Eric Cantona, Xavi and Fernando Torres announced as the newest Icons to join FIFA 21’s Ultimate Team mode along with eight other legends added for EA Sports’ next instalment

  • EA Sports reveal the 11 new Icons that can be used in the new FIFA 21 game
  • Eric Cantona, Xavi and Fernando Torres will feature in the Ultimate Team mode
  • Eight other legendary players have also been added to FIFA’s next instalment
  • Players will also be able to add Ferenc Puskas and Petr Cech to their squads

EA Sports have announced the 11 new legendary players that will grace FIFA 21’s Ultimate Team mode, allowing players to incorporate the likes of Eric Cantona, Xavi and Fernando Torres into their squads.

Fans will be able to get their hands on the next instalment of the FIFA series on October 6, which will feature over 100 ‘Icons’ for the first time ever.

Along with Cantona, Xavi and Torres, gamers will also be given the chance to add Nemanja Matic and Ashley Cole into their teams on Ultimate Team (FUT).

Manchester United legend Eric Cantona has been added into FIFA 21’s Ultimate Team mode

EA Sports announced 11 new ‘Icons’ that will be incorporated into FIFA 21 – released on Oct 6

Hungarian legend Ferenc Puskas has been added to the popular game series for the first time ever, while German duo Bastian Schweinsteiger and Philipp Lahm make their returns.

Samuel Eto’o and Petr Cech complete the star-studded line-up added to FUT for this year’s title.

Icon cards have become a staple in FUT and are some of the rarest items to be acquired in the game mode.

FIFA 20 saw the addition of Zinedine Zidane, Pep Guardiola and Didier Drogba as icons, while fans are also able to include Pele, Diego Maradona and Paolo Maldini into their teams – if they are lucky enough.

Fans will also be able to put Fernando Torres into their team, who is now an icon in the game

Barcelona legend Xavi also makes his return to the game following his retirement in 2019

Following the announcement of the new icons last week, EA Sports stated: ‘Create your dream squad as a combination of today’s superstars and footballing giants of the past like Eric Cantona, Xavi, and Philipp Lahm joining Pele, Diego Maradona, Johan Cruyff, Ronaldo Nazario, Zinedine Zidane and more to make up the prestigious FUT 100.’

Along with the announcement of the new icons, EA also confirmed that they will be making the game ‘less toxic’ for players going forward. 

Goal celebrations such as the ‘Shush’ and ‘A-OK’ will be removed while the amount of time allocated to celebrate goals has also been reduced.

Explaining the recent removal and reductions, producer Sam Rivera told SPORTbible: ‘There are people who play a lot of matches in the weekend and they need to complete 30 matches in a certain amount of time.

Serbian legend Nemanja Matic will also be made available in FUT from October 6

Hungarian icon Ferenc Puskas has been added to the game for the first time ever

‘We really felt like there were instances where if we’re giving you an experience, it has to be smooth and it has to be to the point. I just want to come here and play; that’s what the game is for.

‘The game flow is so important and we need to keep it as short as possible. I play a lot of FIFA and for years I’ve felt we needed to trim this animation down so you don’t have 15 seconds of celebration plus ten replays.

‘We’re now at a point where you have time to celebrate, which is part of football and that’s what we want, and then you watch one replay of the goal and you’re back into play.

‘It’s a change the hardcore community are going to appreciate a lot.’ 


Eric Cantona (New)

Petr Cech (New)

Ashley Cole (New)

Samuel Eto’o (New)

Phillip Lahm (New)

Ferenc Puskas (New)

Bastian Schweinsteiger (New)

Davor Suker (New)

Fernando Torres (New)

Nemanja Vidic (New)

Xavi (New)

Pele 98 CAM

Maradona 97 CAM

Ronaldo 96 ST

Cruyff 94 CF

Ronaldinho 94 LW

Yashin 94 GK

Maldini 94 CB

Eusebio 93 CF

Baggio 93 CAM

Best 93 RW

Baresi 93 CB

Henry 93 ST

Gullit 93 CF

Matthaus 93 CM

Rivaldo 92 LW

Raúl 92 CF

Cannavaro 92 CB

Butragueno 92 ST

Lineker 92 ST

Figo 92 RW

Moore 92 CB

Stoichkov 92 ST

Van Nistelrooy 92 ST

Schmeichel 92 GK

Puyol 92 CB

Del Piero 92 CF

Bergkamp 92 CF

Zanetti 92 RB 

Nesta 92 CB

Hierro 91 CB

Nedved 91 LM

Scholes 91 CM

Socrates 91 CAM

Trezeguet 91 ST

Seedorf 91 CAM

Gerrard 91 CM

Ballack 91 CM

Viera 91 CM

Roberto Carlos 91 LB

Owen 91 ST

Van Der Sar 91 GK

Kluivert 91 ST

Pires 91 LM

Shevchenko 91 ST

Shearer 91 ST

Desailly 91 CB

Blanc 91 CB

Laudrup 91 CAM

Lehmann 90 GK

Lampard 90 CM

Makélélé 90 CDM

Veron 90 CM

Zola 90 CF

Ferdinand 90 CB

Deco 90 CM

Inzaghi 90 ST

Overmars 90 LM

Larsson 90 ST

Petit 90 CDM

Hernandez 90 ST

Rui Costa 90 CAM

Rijkaard 90 CDM

Litmanen 90 CAM

Crespo 90 ST

Gattuso 89 CDM

Campbell 89 CB

Nakata 88 CAM

Source: Read Full Article