European Super League explained: Full details – will Premier League clubs be banned?

European Super League is 'seismic move' says expert

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City, Tottenham, Arsenal and Chelsea have all confirmed their plans to take part in a controversial breakaway tournament, dubbed ‘The Euorpean Super League’. There has been talk of Europe’s biggest clubs moving away from the Champions League for several years now with Project Big Picture the most recent proposal which was shut down last year.

But in a dramatic turn of events on Sunday, details soon began to emerge that 12 European teams had signed up to a breakaway ‘Super League’.

And late in the evening, clubs released statements confirming their plans to take part with a new website even being announced.

The plans have been condemned by every governing body involved with former players such as Rio Ferdinand, Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville condemning the clubs – largely the owners – involved.

Express Sport is on hand to provide a full rundown of what has been announced, what it means for European and domestic football going forward and more.

JUST IN: Boris Johnson backs football authorities to take action against ESL

What has been announced?

12 clubs – Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City, Tottenham, Arsenal, Chelsea, Juventus, Inter Milan, AC Milan, Real Madrid, Barcelona and Atletico Madrid – have signed up as ‘founding members’ for the new European Super League.

The proposals will see the clubs involved form a competition to directly rival the Champions League.

Three more clubs are expected to be announced as ‘founding members’, who will annually qualify for the competition, which has seen American bank JP Morgan invest €5billion into the project.

Clubs also announced that the ‘founding clubs’ would receive €3.5b “solely to support their infrastructure investment plans and to offset the impact of the COVID pandemic”.


How will it work?

The new Super League website states: “The Super League is a new European competition between 20 top clubs comprised of 15 founders and five annual qualifiers. There will be two groups of 10 clubs each, playing home and away fixtures within the group each year.

“Following the group stage, eight clubs will qualify for a knockout tournament, playing home and away until the single-match Super League championship, in a dramatic four-week end to the season.

“Games will be played midweek, and all clubs will remain in their domestic leagues.”

What does this mean for the Premier League?

Essentially, all six English clubs who announced their plans to be involved in the new Super League first need to get permission from the Premier League.

The league’s board will make a decision on what they plan to do and they’ve already made it abundantly clear that they don’t support the announcement.

There have been already been threats that the 12 clubs currently involved could be banned from domestic and international competitions.

“The clubs concerned will be banned from playing in any other competition at domestic, European or world level, and their players could be denied the opportunity to represent their national teams, UEFA said.

The six English clubs involved could then face expulsion from the Premier League altogether if UEFA and the governing bodies stick to their guns.

But Super League officials have already written to FIFA and UEFA presidents warning them that legal action has already begun to prevent football authorities from blocking the breakaway competition going ahead, according to football reporter Tariq Panja.

Source: Read Full Article