Manchester City celebrate Premier League title with routine win against Chelsea

Manchester City kicked off their Premier League title celebrations with a routine win against Chelsea at the Etihad.

Chelsea news, exclusives and analysis

Chelsea gave City a guard of honour before kick-off, as Arsenal’s 1-0 defeat to Nottingham Forest on Sunday ensured Pep Guardiola’s men were champions for the fifth time in six seasons.

Guardiola rung the changes with the title sewn up, making nine changes from the side that battered Real Madrid on Wednesday.

But, in an indication of City’s strength, it was World Cup winner Julian Alvarez that put the home side ahead within 12 minutes as they pounced on a loose ball for the Argentine to fire home.

Raheem Sterling, returning to the Etihad for the first time since his departure, had a golden chance to equalise but was denied by Stefan Ortega, who got a strong fist to his effort.

Kalvin Phillips, making his first Premier League start for City since joining in a £55m deal from Leeds United last summer, came close to doubling City’s lead on the hour mark but he was denied by the post after meeting Riyad Mahrez’s free-kick.

Alvarez thought he had his brace in the 73rd minute but the goal was disallowed after Mahrez was adjudged to have used a hand in the build-up.

That was the end of the Algerian’s day and he was subbed to much fanfare as Erling Haaland was introduced for the final 15 minutes.

With finals against Manchester United and Inter Milan to come in the FA Cup and Champions League respectively, City have to keep their focus if they’re to pull off a historic treble.

But Guardiola’s men let their hair down at the full-time whistle to celebrate becoming the second club in Premier League history to win three in a row.

A pitch invasion from the home support followed the full-time whistle, which delayed the trophy lift for around 20 minutes.

It was Ilkay Gundogan that lifted the trophy, on what could be the German’s final home appearance for the club.

Each City player was introduced individually as Guardiola was the first to take to the podium.

For more stories like this, check our sport page.

Follow Metro Sport for the latest news onFacebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Source: Read Full Article