Soccer

MARK CLATTENBURG: Chris Kavanagh's Everton penalty WAS the right call

MARK CLATTENBURG: Chris Kavanagh made the RIGHT call to give Everton a penalty for Trent Alexander-Arnold’s challenge on Dominic Calvert-Lewin… but it was not worth a red card

  • Everton beat Liverpool at Anfield for the first time since 1999 on Saturday night
  • The second goal was a disputed Gylfi Sigurdsson penalty after an apparent foul
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold was adjudged to have fouled Dominic Calvert-Lewin
  • But it was the right decision as the Liverpool right-back initiated the contact 

Dominic Calvert-Lewin had an open goal, so there was no reason for him to dive. As he hurdled Trent Alexander-Arnold to get to the ball, the Liverpool full back lifted his head and created contact.

It was a penalty, but it was good to see common sense prevail and Alexander-Arnold avoid a red card.

The 22-year-old could have been dismissed for the denial of an obvious goalscoring opportunity with no attempt to play the ball, if referee Chris Kavanagh had followed the same principles which saw David Luiz shown red at Wolves.

Everton beat Liverpool 2-0 at Anfield with the second coming from a penalty for the above foul

Everton midfielder Gylfi Sigurdsson scored the penalty to seal the game for the Toffees 

The Arsenal defender made accidental contact with Willian Jose, resulting in a penalty and a sending-off.

Kavanagh spent mere seconds at his monitor. It wasn’t to check whether it was a penalty — he and VAR Andre Marriner accepted it was — but whether Alexander-Arnold should be red-carded. 

Kavanagh applied the spirit of the law and decided not to further punish Liverpool. To avoid any more incorrect reds like the one for Luiz, the law should be changed. 

Reds boss Jurgen Klopp questioned the penalty but Mark Clattenburg feels it was the right call




Share this article

Source: Read Full Article