Premier League reveal the nominees for Player of the Season

Premier League reveal the nominees for Player of the Season – as Man City and Arsenal each boast TWO players on the esteemed shortlist – while Kevin De Bruyne aims to become the first star to win the prize THREE times

  • The Premier League have announced their nominees for Player of the Season 
  • Title challengers Manchester City and Arsenal have two players up for the award
  • Haaland, Odegaard and Saka are also up for the Young Player of the Year award 

The nominations for the Premier League Player of the Season have been revealed, with Manchester City and Arsenal both having two stars in contention for the award.

Kevin De Bruyne and Erling Haaland have both been nominated  from league leaders City along with Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard from second-placed Arsenal. 

Manchester United forward Marcus Rashford is also up for the award along with Newcastle defender Kieran Trippier and Tottenham striker Harry Kane.

Haaland, Saka and Odegaard were also nominated for the Premier League Young Player of the Year award.  

City midfielder De Bruyne is the current holder of the title, while he also won it in the 2019-20 season. If he triumphs again he would become the first player to win the prize on three occasions. This season he has scored seven goals and provided 18 assists in the Premier League.

Kevin De Bruyne is aiming to be named Premier League player of the season for the third time

Erling Haaland (L) has been nominated along with Bukayo Saka (C) and Martin Odegaard (R)

Haaland, meanwhile, has enjoyed an incredible first season at City and has scored 36 league goals in just 33 appearances.

Saka played a key part in Arsenal’s challenge for the title as he weighed in with 13 goals and 11 assists.

Gunners captain Odegaard has found the net 15 times in the league and has also set up eight goals.

Rashford produced some excellent performances for United this campaign and is currently on 16 goals and five assists.

Trippier has been part of a Newcastle team that has surpassed expectations by challenging for a place in the Champions League. He has played in all 35 of Newcastle’s league games so far this season.

Marcus Rashford (L), Kieran Trippier (C) and Harry Kane (R) are also in contention for the award

Tottenham striker Kane has enjoyed another prolific season in front of goal as he has scored 27 times.

Liverpool winger Mohamed Salah hasn’t been nominated despite 19 goals and ten assists. 

As well as Haaland, Saka and Odegaard, Newcastle’s Sven Botman and Alexander Isak are also up for the young player award along with Brighton duo Moises Caicedo and Alexis Mac Allister.

The nominations for manager of the season have also been revealed: Mikel Arteta (Arsenal), Roberto De Zerbi (Brighton), Unai Emery (Aston Villa), Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Eddie Howe (Newcastle) and Marco Silva (Fulham).

Source: Read Full Article