WWE SummerSlam live results and analysis

  • WWE on ESPN Editor

WWE’s SummerSlam pay-per-view is set to fill Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, normally the home of the Las Vegas Raiders, on Saturday with what should be its largest live crowd since October 2019.

The event is headlined by two world title matches with returning stars that vary drastically in circumstance. John Cena, fresh off appearances in The Suicide Squad and the Fast & Furious franchise, among many other roles in Hollywood, looks to break the tie between himself and Ric Flair for most world title reigns in WWE’s history. He challenges Roman Reigns for the Universal title.

Goldberg is also back, for the first time since January’s Royal Rumble. And for the fourth consecutive time, his pay-per-view return will be in a world title match. He most recently failed to win the WWE championship against Drew McIntyre at the Royal Rumble, after defeating “The Fiend” Bray Wyatt for the Universal championship in Saudi Arabia in February 2020 and losing that title to Braun Strowman in March 2020.

There is also a triple threat match for the Raw women’s championship, with Money in the Bank winner and Raw women’s champion Nikki A.S.H. defending against the two most recent champions, Charlotte Flair and Rhea Ripley. On SmackDown, Bianca Belair defends her women’s championship against Sasha Banks in a rematch from WrestleMania 37.

Six more matches round out the card, most notably a grudge match between Edge and Seth Rollins.

Follow along throughout the night for instant recaps and analysis of SummerSlam, as it happens.

Still to come:

Edge vs. Seth Rollins

Drew McIntyre vs. Jinder Mahal

Alexa Bliss vs. Eva Marie

U.S. championship: Sheamus (c) vs. Damian Priest

Raw tag team championship: AJ Styles and Omos (c) vs. Randy Orton and Riddle

SmackDown tag team championship: The Usos (c) vs. Rey and Dominik Mysterio

SmackDown women’s championship: Bianca Belair (c) vs. Sasha Banks

Raw women’s championship: Nikki A.S.H (c) vs. Charlotte Flair vs. Rhea Ripley

WWE championship: Bobby Lashley (c) vs. Goldberg

WWE Universal championship: Roman Reigns (c) vs. John Cena

Source: Read Full Article