BBC SPOTY shortlist and coverage details ahead of 70th edition of show

SPOTY: Lineker opens show with Logan, Scott and Balding

The 70th edition of the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award will take place on Tuesday evening as six sports stars battle for the honour. The ceremony will be broadcast live from MediaCityUK in Salford. And Express Sport is on hand with all the information ahead of the show.

Which sports stars are on the shortlist?

The shortlist for the 2023 SPOTY award was revealed on Tuesday, 12 December and comprises cricket ace Stuart Broad, jockey Frankie Dettori, football star Mary Earps, wheelchair tennis player Alfie Hewett, athlete Katarina Johnson-Thompson and golf genius Rory McIlroy.

Who will win the award?

Mary Earps is the overwhelming favourite to win this year’s award after starring for England at the Women’s World Cup in the summer. The 30-year-old saved a penalty from Jennifer Hermoso in the final but couldn’t prevent her team losing in the showpiece event as Spain were crowned champions.

Earps also hit the headlines after speaking out against Nike for their decision not to sell any goalkeeper shirts throughout the tournament. Nike ultimately reversed their decision, with the jersey selling out within five minutes after it was eventually put on sale.

Read more… ‘I think Red Bull expert behind Max Verstappen’s success should win BBC SPOTY’

Broad is the second favourite to win the award, with Johnson-Thompson and Dettori next in the running. Hewett and McIlroy appear to be rank outsiders.

What other awards are on offer?

There will be plenty of other awards handed out on the night, with the ceremony including awards for the Young Sports Personality of the Year, Team and Coach of the Year, Unsung Hero and the Helen Rollason Award. The evening will also see a presentation of The Lifetime Achievement and World Sport Star awards.

What time is it on?

The ceremony is scheduled to get underway at 7pm. It will be screened live on BBC, the BBC iPlayer and the BBC Sport website and app. Coverage is expected to last for two hours.

  • Support fearless journalism
  • Read The Daily Express online, advert free
  • Get super-fast page loading

Don’t miss…
Ronnie O’Sullivan doesn’t deserve SPOTY shortlist spot and Earps shouldn’t win[COMMENT]
Mary Earps favourite for SPOTY gong as Man City stars snubbed[DETAILS]
Beth Mead wins BBC Sports Personality of the Year award[HISTORY]

Who will host the awards?

The SPOTY award ceremony will be hosted by Gary Lineker, Clare Balding, Gabby Logan and Alex Scott.

How to vote

The public will be able to vote for their SPOTY on the night by phone or online. Full details of the voting process will be announced during the show.

Who won last year?

Last year’s SPOTY award was won by England football star Beth Mead. The Arsenal player, who helped her country win Euro 2022, was the first female footballer to win the award and beat England cricketer Ben Stokes and Olympics curling champion Eve Muirhead to the honour.

Source: Read Full Article